Dune Port Newbie

hey guys, newbie here. I hope you guys can turn me in the right direction. I’m currently re-sealing my motor and was told by a friend that I should might as well as mods and do a dune port. My question is, if I port my cylinders, do I have to get bigger carbs? I currently have stock carbs with tors delete.  What do I need to adjust exactly if I do a dune cylinder port? 

99 stock

mods:

wiseco clutch basket, billet shift star, cool head pro design, lockout clutch, t5’s 

No need for larger carbs, oem are good for 65-70-ish hp before they really start to choke the motor. Realistically, if thinking of having port work done, I’d get aftermarket pipes before carbs. Like 375 said, go with something your builder recommends. And on the builder note, please….make life easier on yourself and send it to an ACTUAL builder. We have plenty of them that are recommended on here……don’t just send the cylinders to some dude who says he can port them because he’s close to you. 

Call em up……the hood ones will ask questions like “what aftermarket parts do you currently have on your bike” and “what type of performance are you looking for”

I went through Jeff at F.A.S.T. Racing and he asked me things like my riding conditions, what I wanted in terms of performance, my riding style, what fuels I wanted to run or have access to, current bike setup…..

super glad I went him, he kept me up to date on the whole process and even had me call him with compression numbers after i finished the build to verify i wasn’t above what the fuel could handle.

aside from port work, I’d also recommend pipes, air filter, true/weld the crank, timing, and possibly having the transfer ports ported to match the dune port (your builder will know what I’m talking about)