Splitting the Cases

BigRed350x

I am NOT a professional builder. These images are only to give you an idea of what is involved in a tear down. THIS IS NOT A MANUAL!! GO BUY A DAMN CLYMER IF YOU DON'T HAVE ONE!!! I am not responsible for anything you jack up while trying to follow these pictures.

I know people are going to bug me about so... I don't clean my engine before i tear it down for this one and simple reason: I have a heated Diesel Blast Bath tank at work. I can get all the dirt inside I want, because I am going to clean all the parts before I put them back together. If you don't have something to wash your parts in, take your bike to the car wash and pressure wash your engine or something before you work on it. I don't care if dirt gets in mine since i am either replacing everything or cleaning it in an automotive parts washer. I am replacing any bearings that do happen to get dirt in them , so don't worry about it.

Here are the pictures and instructions....

This first picture is just to show how my frame was made a little stronger up by the bars. This is a really weak point on these frames.

c4229dbb.jpg

Here's the Engine on my nifty home-made bench. lol This is with carbs already off, and most of the fluids drained out. I prefer to work on my engine out of the frame, some of these things are easier to do in frame, but I am a big guy and don't have a high enough lift to have my bike at chest height, so I take the whole thing out right from the start.

0d9b9c29.jpg

This is the head, the first thing I take off. Just work backwards from 10 to 1 losening each a little bit at a time until its lose.

eeac71a7.jpg

Here the head is lose and I'm taking it off.

61c0ed18.jpg

Looking down at the cylinders / pistons

08a664e6.jpg

Remove your head gasket

b374750d.jpg

Next, i take off what's left of the intakes... Losen those 4 allen head bolts on each side and pull it all off.

bf9a3f5a.jpg

32833067.jpg

Next get that stupid hose out of the way.