windows vista

I don't run it but I have a co-worker that tried it out. He didn't like it at all...I can't remember all the things he said that he didn't like about it, but he installed it, and then un-installed it a few days later. I have talked to a few more of my friends that had the same experience with Vista. All the folks I talked to are PC tech support, programmers, etc. :shrug:

My company will NOT be jumping on this bandwagon for quite some time.

Too many older legacy programs that may not work, horrible driver support, etc., AT THIS TIME, I should add.

Office 2007 is a royal pain too.

I work in the IT industry, as well. I probably will have the company purchase a copy so we can get some hands on for the OS...but, I won't even THINK about putting it into production.

I would explain XP as windows 2000 on steriods...albeit fluffy ones. Vista is a WHOLE new animal...

And I come from quite a few years in the biz, from back in the windows for work groups 1.1 all the way to what we have now..

Sounds like a pretty sweet gig you got going on...I've been in networking for a few years, it can be fun at times, but can be a PITA as well. We deal with Cisco and Nortel equipment, Nortel is JUNK, LOL. We monitor and troubleshoot/resolve any networking problem for the entire bank...from the branches, ATM's, admin buildings, etc.

Sorry grinch, didn't mean to take your thread off track.

That's a good idea, lol. My co-worker that played with Vista a lot comes in on Friday, I'll see if I can get some more information about it. I do remember his main problem was in fact driver support. There were several things he tried installing and they simply didn't work, and he couldn't get them to work, and found no support whatsoever as Dave mentioned

• 1 month later...

Got a test PC, brand new HP at work with Vista Business. I used it for 2 weeks..and I can say we won't be migrating anytime soon.