Yamaha Banshee MOT in the United Kingdom

arag0105

Hi guys,

Newbie here so be kind!

I have just purchased a 2003 Yamaha Banshee over in the USA and will have it over at the beginning of next year.

I am looking to get it registered and road legal with a daytime MOT.

I have just got off the phone with a garage that will happily MOT it for me and they have said it will need a set of front/rear number plates, horn and a manual parking brake (for the daytime MOT). Firstly, do the Banshees come with a manual or hydraulic parking brake? Obviously the quad will not have plates at first as it isn't registered until an MOT so the MOT station said they can work off of the chassis number (very similar to importing a car).

Also, has anybody else had their Banshee road legalised with a daytime MOT and is there anything else I should be aware of?

Any advice is much appreciated!

Cheers,

Adam

Edited by arag0105

The parking brake is usually removed though. 

You can get atv's road legal in some states, but not others.

Arizona required a horn, blinkers and working head and tail lights.

Parking brake wasn't part of the requirement.

There is only one road legal or (blue plated) banshee that I have personally seen here in Ontario Canada it had the following done to it to get blue plated
1.Must have a key to enable/disable motor ignition
2. Must have a parking break which comes stock on a banshee which is cable activated on top of the hydraulic brakes.
3. Must have front and back indicators for left and right turns.
4. Must have a battery to power the hazards lights if you break down on side of road.
5.Must have a rear brake lights that comes on when you apply the the brakes. (My 2007 has that stock) not sure what years the rear brake light come on. If yours does not have it you will need to order the parts and wiring harness for it.
6. Float you stator ground so you can charge the battery for your lights and hazards lights.
7. Horn
8. Rear mirror