Yamaha Clutch Cross-Compatibility

TurbStLCards

I got my project bike up and running but the website for Kush sprockets is more useless than ever and I fear they are out of business. So my planned way to lessen shock on the drivetrain is out the window.

I want to keep my rear wheel but it doesn't have a cush drive and I'm concerned about the longevity of my tranny on the pavement. So my next solution involves getting a slipper clutch that you see on the four stroke street bikes, supermotos, and I now see Yamaha putting them in the YFZ450 to limit the back torque that is making its way to the tranny.

So here is my question. Does the Banshee clutch share parts with any other Yamaha bikes? Perhaps some four stroke? Maybe if I was a machinist I could buy a slipper clutch and make it work in the Banshee. I've been scouring parts fiches with no luck so I figured I'd ask.

I wonder how different the clutches can be? A basket some plates and springs? Something has to work wouldn't you think?

If you have any other ideas to limit back torque on the transmission, I am all ears!

Thanks!

Just about any issue with the clutch/tranny has been solved on bikes upwards of 200+ HP. What you are asking isn't needed and it sounds like you are trying to re engineer something before even understanding what you are dealing with. The fact that you are hoping some cushioned sprocket would solve your problems is a bit out there but there are plenty of real world solutions you should take the time to research.

Ah damn, gotta love forums!

Every street bike with over 40hp comes a cush drive nowadays, the RZ 350 came with a cush drive, so I apologize for expressing a concern and desire to add a little bit of shock dampening to the driveline.

Yes, I don't have a 100% understanding of the innerworkings of every moto/ATV transmission, hence the question. Fuck it, I'll just blindly go about my business and when something happens I'll shout "But who could have seen this coming?"