Anyone recovered a seat?

gentner8

Im just wondering what kind of staple gun to use and what the basic procedure is. Ive never done one before and I dont want to F it up.

i used an electric staple gun...some spray glue and a hot glue gun

basically hot glue down where u wanna start at and go from there the spray glue holds the cover to the seat make sure u get it right the 1st time

afyter all said and done then i stapled mine

An air stapler works best, the electric ones can be a pain in the ass causing the staples to bounce back. The hot glue is a good idea for a beginner I suppose. Use heat to make the cover nice and pliable and it makes the job a million times easier, something like a heat gun (be VERY careful not to melt) or if you have one of those steamers for clothes that would work great. We used to use a steam machine on all covers when I worked in the auto upholstery industry.

I've recovered many...

What kind of air stapler and what size staples? I have a stapler that I use for subfloors, but the staples would be way too long.

I used a Porter Cable air stapler for crown molding, etc, found the shortest staples I could...

You have to angle them into the foam, but it gets tricky near the front where the plastic and the foam get a LOT thinner, I did have to pull a few out.

Turn the regulator down to about 30 to 50 PSI, and most air staplers have a depth adjustment for how far into the material it will shoot the staple...

Heating it up before and during installation is a good idea. I bet 10 minutes in a dryer wouldn't hurt it a bit....:)

I was almost home when I tried to stretch it too hard.....ripped the corner. Im so mad, I can hardly drink this beer. I just hope the wife can make it look decent enough to salvage since its just a seam tear. :banghead:

you can always buy some fabrice and take it to a upholster shop and have them make you a new cover and install it. i got mine made and installed for 45 bucks