At what compression is it time to rebuild topend?

gjone5

I just got my first Banshee last December. It is a year 2000. The guy I bought it from spoke little to no English. So I don't know if the topend has ever been rebuilt. It was riding great until a week ago. Now it has lost a lot of power. So I checked the reeds, the carbs, removed the TORS, replaced the plugs... and still has a loss in power. So I checked the compression and I got 96 on the left and 108 on the right. Seems how I am new with the Banshee, I was just wondering what the compression should be? And when is it a good time to rebuild the topend?

I had 115 per cylinder after my rebuild, beat running motor ive had so for, I truly don't know what the rebuild level would/could be but with that difference, your putting stress on half of the motor and half of your bearings witch will cause more trouble than just for your pistons. I would test a few things and find your problem on why you are getting lower psi in one cylinder pm me for tips or tricks, gladly help!

you're top end is in need of a bore/hone and new pistons.  You should be kicking somewhere around 125 psi (unless your running a milled head or a noss style head).  You should also have NO MORE than 10% of a difference in compression between your cylinders.......and TRUTHFULLY it should be closer to no more than 5% between cylinders. 

2strokes are MEANT to have the top ends rebuilt.....it will roughly cost you about $300-$400 depending where you go to get the top end rebuilt.