Electrical Engineer Man

GleasmJA

Here is what i traced for the TORS wiring. I want to know how/why this works? Don't downplay for me as i'm a Navy Electronics tech. I understand but can't wrap my brain around this one. I want to know where to remove all the TORS wiring, where to cut it all out at. I thought at the red " X's " and just make sure i reconnect ground? Thanks for the help.

Edited by GleasmJA

Just unplug the TORS unit (just in front of the fuel petcock on the frame). There are wires that feed from your carbs, thumb throttle, parking brake into the TORS unit. Then, there's a wire from the TORS that goes to your CDI to handle any of the inputs. Stuck throttle kills the ignition, parking brake limits RPM.

When you unplug the TORS, you can pull the cap off the throttle and disconnect the microswitch in there and remove the wires by unplugging it from the main wiring harness. Same with the parking brake portion of the stock clutch perch, and finally the TORS carb caps. Get the TORS removal kit for your carbs and a new throttle cable. It makes jetting your bike so much easier.

Electrically, guess I've never thought about it , or cared for that matter. Your diagram is a little bit wrong though. I think there's a wiring diagram for a banshee on the site somewhere that shows what every wire routes to.

One more thing, not a single wire needs to be cut.  Just unplug the parts that you are removing from the main harness, no snippers needed.

471625[/snapback]

When I disconnected mine, I traced each wire back to where it connected to the main harness & cut them off. I rewrapped the main harness with heat shrink type electrical tape to seal it. You don't have to do this, but it gets rid of the extra wires. :cheers: