Glamis vs. Gordon's vs. Buttercup?

jaysea1

Depends what type of riding you like to do, and your tolerance to big crowds. On an off weekend Glamis is not to bad to ride. I think Gordons has more technical dunes as compared to Glamis with its nice smooth bowls and flowing dunes. I guess to me its alll about which one is closer to you, and to me it happens to be Gordons so thts where I go.

• 2 weeks later...

Thanks guys for all your opinions...I'm new to the dunes, I'll be coming from phoenix. I know how to get to Gordons (general area) Which exit off of 8 do you take? Gordon's exit :shootself: or do you guys get off somewhere else. I need to know the choice camp sites over there. Also do you guys like Patton's. How long does it take to get to Glamis from Phoenix?

About 20 miles fron Yuma you will come onto the first off ramp to Buttercup valley. Buttercup is South of the freeway. If you take this off ramp you will come to a stop sigh, ( the roads are paved ) if you take the left turn , it will take you into the valley to a dead end turn around. There are about 3-4 restrooms along the road. You can camp, and ride anywhere along the road. You can also pull out onto the valley floor anywhere you want to, just watch for soft sand. At the stop sign, if you drive straight ahead , the paved road will take you about 2 miles to a dead end, you can camp and ride anywhere along the paved road, also there are rest rooms along this road also.

Just past the Buttercup off ramp Between the East, and West freeway lanes is a rest area with a water well, maintained by the state of Calif. where you can get good water.